Skip to content
   

Injured? Hire Us from the Comfort of Your Own Home - DETAILS HERE

Injured By a Drunk Driver

Posted on: March 22, 2017 by Edwards & Patterson Law

Hit By a Drunk Driver

Drunk driving is a sadly pervasive issue throughout the United States. If you have been injured by a drunk driver, you are not alone. In Oklahoma, motor vehicle operators with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level above 0.08% are considered legally intoxicated. However, even drivers with lower BAC levels are likely to cause serious or even fatal vehicle accidents.

What Do I Do if Injured by a Drunk Driver?

When you become injured by a drunk driver in an automobile accident, your life is turned upside down. Numerous questions swirl about, demanding answers you may not have. What will happen to my family? How will I pay for medical expenses? Who will pay to repair or replace my vehicle? What if I cannot return to work?

If you or someone you love were injured by a drunk driver in an accident, Oklahoma law may allow you to recover compensation from the party or parties responsible. Unlike some legal jurisdictions that follow “no-fault” guidelines, Oklahoma uses a “tort” or “fault” system that allows victims of auto accidents to pursue compensation from the parties at fault and their insurance companies.

DUI and Injury Charges

Driving while under the influence of alcohol (DUI) carries serious penalties in Oklahoma. The penalty for driving with a BAC of between 0.05% and 0.08% is license suspension of:

  • 1st time suspended: 30 days.
  • 2nd time suspended: 6 months.
  • 3rd time suspended: 1 year.

The previous suspension does not need to be alcohol- or drug-related to affect the suspension for DUI.

The penalty for driving with a BAC of 0.08% or over is license suspension of:

  • 1st offense: 180 days.
  • 2nd offense with 1 prior DUI/drug revocation within 10 years: 1 year.
  • 3rd offense with 2 prior DUI/drug revocations within 10 years: 3 years.

The penalty for someone under 21 years old driving with any measurable amount of alcohol or refusing a chemical test is a license suspension of:

  • 1st offense: 6 months.
  • 2nd offense: 12 months.
  • 3rd offense: 36 months.

In addition to the above penalties you could also be required to:

  • Take part in an Alcohol and Drug Assessment and Evaluation.
  • Pay the following fees
    • License reinstatement fee: $25.
    • Processing fee: $75.
    • Trauma care fee: $200.
    • Mental health fee: $15.
    • Limited-driving privilege fee (if eligible): $175.
    • Ignition Interlock DPS fee: $50

Drunk Driver Accident Attorneys

When you are injured by a drunk driver, the physical and emotional trauma can last for years. As a victim in this type of accident, you should take appropriate legal action to protect your rights and recover compensation for damages incurred. If you wait, it will be more difficult to make a valid claim and gain the remuneration you deserve.

If you have been injured by a drunk driver in McAlester, Tulsa or in eastern Oklahoma, call on the experienced attorneys at Edwards & Patterson Law. We offer free case evaluations with no strings attached. Call us today at 877-403-8417 or contact us online. Our team takes cases on a contingency basis, which means you pay no attorney fees unless you are awarded monetary damages. We are dedicated to holding negligent parties accountable and are passionate about fighting for accident victims throughout Oklahoma. We care. We fight. We win!

  • NAMIL
  • superlawyers
  • Contact Edwards & Patterson Law Firm today for a free consultation.
  • Contact Edwards & Patterson Law Firm today for a free consultation.
  • Contact Edwards & Patterson Law Firm today for a free consultation.
  • Contact Edwards & Patterson Law Firm today for a free consultation.
  • Contact Edwards & Patterson Law Firm today for a free consultation.
  • Contact Edwards & Patterson Law Firm today for a free consultation.
  • top-100-attorneys-lifetime-achievement-seal
Offices in Tulsa & McAlester to Serve Your Needs IF YOU CAN’T MAKE IT TO OUR OFFICES, WE WILL MEET YOU — ANYTIME, ANYWHERE.
EDWARDS & PATTERSON LAW

321 S. 3rd Street | McAlester, OK 74501

918-302-3700

Get Directions
EDWARDS & PATTERSON LAW

1831 East 71st Street | Tulsa, OK 74136

877-761-5059

Get Directions

Communities We Serve